In the wake of the Tour de France 2023, which saw Jonas Vingegaard (Jumbo-Visma) crowned for the second time, the MPCC is delighted to have seen a number of its individual members take part in action for the three weeks of racing.

Our association would first congratulate the three stage winners who are members of our movement on a voluntary basis : Jordi Meeus, Felix Gall and Jai Hindley. The Bora-Hansgrohe team’s leader won Stage 5 in Laruns, his first victory on the roads of the Tour. The Australian climber also wore the precious yellow jersey for the first time in his career. In contention for a podium until stage 13, Jai Hindley finished his first « Grande Boucle » in seventh place.

Felix Gall, another newcomer, also added a victory on the Tour to his palmares by winning the queen stage (Stage 17), marked by the Col de la Loze climb. The Austrian rider from the AG2R-Citroën team, a member of the MPCC, ranked eighth in the final overall classification.

Other riders of our movement were also particularly aggressive, including Thibaut Pinot, Guillaume Martin, Tiesj Benoot, Ben O’Connor and Victor Campenaerts, elected most aggressive rider. In a particularly demanding edition, around 70% of the MPCC riders who started the race in Bilbao managed to slip into breakaways at least once.

Finally, we are delighted with the prestigious success achieved by Jordi Meeus on the Champs-Elysées. Like his leader Jai Hindley, the Belgian sprinter was taking part in his first Tour de France.

We would like to remind that joining the MPCC, whether as a team or as a rider, is a commitment to cycling – a commitment to abide by rules that are stricter that those of the international bodies. We encourage other teams and other riders, to join us in promoting a sport that remains as popular as ever and is constantly seeking credibility with the general public.