Let us go back in MPCC’s history. Gathered in London on July 5th, 2007, and then in Pau on July 24th, 2007, teams AG2R La Mondiale, Agritubel, Bouygues Telecom, Cofidis, Crédit Agricole, Française des Jeux and Gerolsteiner decided to come together to create Mouvement Pour un Cyclisme Credible (MPCC), in response to non-compliance with the ethical charter made as of January 1st, 2005, unanimously accepted by AIGCP. The measures MPCC proposed from the very beginning already included the principle of cessation of work for an intra-articular infiltration of corticoids. In the following weeks, teams like Skil-Shimano, Rabobank, Slipstream and T-Mobile joined the movement. Affected by two positive antidoping tests in less than twelve months, T-Mobile was the first team to respect the principle of self-suspension on a voluntary basis. Those ground rules that current MPCC members committed to respect are part of founding principles of the movement.

In October 2009, Iwan Spekenbrink became Vice-President of MPCC. His team Skil-Shimano, member of MPCC for two years, rode in July its first Tour de France. Still in this position five years later, the Dutch has been a major player in the development of MPCC, which has substantially enlarged its membership in response to the important relegations regarding Armstrong case. Today MPCC represents 84% of the professional teams. There are 31 teams from World Tour and Continental Pro divisions which include 15 nationalities. Just 6 professional teams are not members of MPCC – Iwan Spekenbrink says not to judge them : « The most important is that one day (…) we can be where we want to be. The most important is that MPCC contributes. That’s more important than if there’s 5 teams more or less. The development of MPCC shows that the development of cycling is making. »